Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

December 21, 2023

The Honorable Antony Blinken Secretary of State U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street NW Washington, D.C. 20520

Dear Secretary Blinken:

We write regarding Marc Fogel, a southwestern Pennsylvania native currently held in Russia. As negotiations are ongoing with the Russian Federation, we respectfully request that any potential prisoner swap must include Mr. Fogel, along with Paul Whelan and Evan Gershkovich.

As you are aware, Russian authorities detained Mr. Fogel on August 14, 2021, in the Sheremetyevo Airport with a limited amount of medical marijuana, previously prescribed by Mr. Fogel's doctor in the United States to treat his chronic pain. Throughout this process, Mr. Fogel has cooperated with Russian authorities and shown proof of his medical conditions. Yet, on June 16, 2022, he was still sentenced to an unconscionable 14-year sentence in a Russian penal colony.

Since his arrest, numerous members of the House and Senate from both sides of the aisle have urged the State Department to take further action, including classifying Mr. Fogel as wrongfully detained. Unfortunately, this designation process has stalled while Mr. Fogel's health has deteriorated. His physical safety continues to remain at risk.

During this holiday season, we join our constituents urging the Biden Administration to redouble its efforts to secure Mr. Fogel's release from Russian custody so that Mr. Fogel may return home to his wife, 94-year-old mother, and the rest of his family. Therefore, we respectfully request that Mr. Fogel be included in any discussion involving other Americans wrongfully detained in Russia.

Thank you very much for your consideration. We look forward to your prompt response.

Sincerely,

Robert P. Casey, Jr.

United States Senator

John Fetterman

United States Senator

ry Reschenthaler

Member of Congress

Mike Kelly
Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

Summer Lee
Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress Matt Cartwright
Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Daniel Meuser Member of Congress Dwight Evans
Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Chrissy Hoalahan Member of Congress